The Beauty of Senior Men

Dawn Stergin
3 min readNov 2, 2021

Why I have changed gears and become a fan.

I have always dated younger men with few exceptions. Some were a LOT younger. Twenty-three years was the max. I am 55 years old and twice divorced and I have learned quite a lot about men and how they are different at different stages of life with women.

Young men are delightful. They are handsome, but often in a skinny, boyish way. If not cocky, they are earnest. They love older women and aim to please. I have been surprised by how polite and gentlemanly a younger man will be with me. It is refreshing. In the bedroom, they are wide open! Willing to learn, try anything, and have the stamina of a workhorse. The problem with younger men is that they have no real wisdom. They may have no financial security or even much direction in life yet. They still want to “party” and play video games. It can be difficult for a mature woman to relate or connect in deeper ways with them. At times they may look to an older woman to “mother” them and can’t really behave or feel like an equal partner. At 35, I divorced and spent that summer hanging out with a group of young twenty-somthing men. They were lively, fun, and liked to paint my toenails. I felt like a queen in their company. We went dancing, drove to the beach spontaneously to watch a meteor shower one night, and sat in coffee shops for hours having goofy conversations. I became involved…

--

--

Dawn Stergin

Former addictions counselor, empty-nester, activist, animal lover, writer and lover of what it means to be human.